PFA Championship Team of the Year: no surprise Brighton and Newcastle players are prominent.

Date: Thursday 20th April 2017 at 11:08 am
Written by: | Comments (0)

THE Professional Footballers’ Association have announced their team of the year for the Championship, with four players from the already-promoted Seagulls and three from Newcastle getting the players’ vote.

The PFA announced this year’s nominees ahead of the 2017 Player of the Year Awards, with the event to be held at the Grosvenor House, London on April 23.

PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE, quoted on Sky Sports website – – said: “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.

“For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished.”

Here’s the Championship team of the year, as voted for by professional footballers competing in all divisions….


David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)


Bruno Saltor (Brighton & Hove Albion), Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jamaal Lascelles (Newcastle United), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)


Tom Cairney (Fulham), Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town), Jonjo Shelvey (Newcastle United)


Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United), Chris Wood (Leeds United)

  • Premier League team of the year to follow.


Your Comment